

## 2017 SCHOOL BOARD ELECTIONS SPECIAL NOTICE

In 2015, the Kansas Legislature passed HB2104, changing local election dates, including the dates for local school board elections. Previously school board general elections were held in the spring of odd-numbered years. The new law requires these elections to be held on the Tuesday following the first Monday in November of odd numbered years.

2017 is an election year for our local school board of education. A primary election must

be conducted if more than three people file for the same school board position. The primary election, if needed, will be held on Tuesday, August 1, 2017. The general election will be held on Tuesday, November 7, 2017. Newly elected school board members will take office on the second Monday in January following the election. A school board member serves for a term of four years.

Any district patron who is a registered voter of the school district and lives in the area of the district for which they are seeking office may file for that position through the deadline of Noon, June 1, 2017.

## **Filing for Office**

There are two ways to file as a candidate for election. The first is to file a declaration of intention to become a candidate and to pay a \$20 filing fee to the county election officer of the county in which the district is located. A person may also become a candidate by filing a petition with the county election officer. The petition must contain signatures of 50 registered voters residing in the member district or geographic area from which the board member is to be elected or 10 percent of such electors, whichever is less. No candidate may withdraw their candidacy after the filing deadline.

School board member districts up for election in 2017 are:

District #4	which represents approximately the northern third of the district presently held by Kristi Carlton
District #5	which represents approximately the middle third of the district presently held by James Copeland
District #6	which represents approximately the southern third of the district presently held by Heather Coit

For more information about school board members, please check out <u>information</u> on the Kansas Association of School Boards website.